New York  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
1/11/04, 7:41 pm

Legal Question


PARI PASSU - Definition

I am trying to understand the meaning of the term ''pari passu'' in the

following example: (Film Developement Investment)

A typical investor's return on investment follows:

1. On the first day of principle photography of the feature film, each

investor will receive an amount equal to 125% of their respective

investment in the developement fund.

2. Each Investor will participate on a PARI PASSU basis with other

investors in the distribution of 4% of the Producer's Adjusted Net Profits

as the term is commonly defined within the film industry.

Thanks in advance for those who can help define the use of the term

as mentioned above.

R.


question bubble
1/11/04, 8:26 pm

Legal Answer


Re: PARI PASSU - Definition

“Pari Passu” generally means that an equity party shall have the same rights as another equity party. In plain English that usually means that one investor shall receive the same ROI (or return on investment) as another investor. The term typically appears in investment instruments (everything from shareholders agreements to mutual fund regulations). Sometimes film labor agreements will characterize “above the line” recoupment in terms of pari passu.

In your case, pari passu is applied to investors. Based on the language you provided, 4% of the producer’s “adjusted net profits” shall be split equally, or on a pari passu basis, among the investors. More importantly, the language “as the term is commonly defined within the film industry” appears to define “adjusted net profits,” which has a unique meaning in that industry (i.e. what factors are typically netted out of gross).

Hope this was helpful. Good luck with your project and/or your research.

Kaiser

Kaiser Wahab

Wahab & Medenica 1115 Broadway, 12th Floor New York, NY 10010

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search