New York | Family Law
12/04/10, 8:03 am
Legal Question
At what age do I stop paying support for my child?
|
Read More Answered By: David Browde |
That depends upon the reason you're paying support - whether it's under a court order or a settlement agreement. If it's a court order, the terms of the order usually specify age 21. |
|
Read More Answered By: Debra Palazzo |
NY law is until age 21 uless you and the Mother have opted out of the law in a written agreement that conforms to the child support standard act.
There are some limited exceptions though. If the child has abandoned you and refuses to visit and/or the Mother has intentionally interfered with visitation so that the child does not visit.
These exceptions are only ajudicated in a court. Do not use self help or you will fall into arrears and could go to jail..
Debra www.westchesteresq.com |
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Hewlett, NY
Questions Answered: 4227
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Chappaqua, NY
Questions Answered: 1595
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-14
Woodbury, NY
Questions Answered: 1371
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-02
Brooklyn, NY
Questions Answered: 1359
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Hawthorne, NY
Questions Answered: 975
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-10
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 603
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-26
► Am I able to obtain an order of protection on behalf of my children if a convicted...
► Legally separated and planning divorce. My wife stopped working and not upholding...
► My 11 yr old daughter is being threatned by a couple of 11 yr old girls, from her...
► I have been separated from my husband for almost 2 years. we have three children. I...
► Hi i am in the middle of a child custody case and the girlfreind got a ticket for...
► I live in NYS and am going thru a divorce. My ex moved out of the town/county where...
► We live in NYC. My husband and I still live together, but want to file for...
More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in New York| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press