Legal Question in Family Law in New York

Am I in contempt of court if I cashed out my 401k before ex-wife's QDRO was submitted, but after divorce judgment which states that my 401k was to be split 50/50 with ex-wife. I have put the money in some family members accounts to hold it for me. What possible legal actions will I face?

Asked on 10/31/13, 6:44 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Browde David A. Browde, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You are in contempt under the circumstances you describe. The penalties can be severe. Contact a local attorney ASAP.

Read more
Answered on 10/31/13, 7:20 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88953 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now