New York  |  Family Law

question bubble
10/25/07, 3:49 pm

Legal Question


My husband wants to divorce me so he can leave the U.S.A.

I've been married 8 years. My husband took on a job in Virginia May 2006. If the job was great for the both of us I was going to move to Virginia to be with him. I would travel 400 miles every weekend to be with him. All was well, I started to sell my Co-op, but also had a legal court case against a loud neighbor. The sale of my Co-op was based on construction for my buyer. Time just kept postponing me to come to Virginia, that my husband said he took on a new job in Egypt and that he wanted to proceed with a divorce and he wanted to complete it with in three months. I was shocked after all the work I did to try to get to my husband and he not remembering that I saw him every weekend and to decide on this was unfair and cruel to our marriage. Now he wants 1/2 of my 401K and 1/2 the sale of the Co-op. The beneficiary to my 401k is my mother. I bought the Co-op while we were married and he started his 2 businesses. Both business went into bankruptcy and he is taking a leave of absence from his new job just to try out Egypt, but he wants a divorce and feels he should get 1/2 of what I own because he was married to me. He is offering nothing to me, but he wants 1/2 of what I have. What are my rights for his abandonment.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search