Legal Question in Family Law in New York

I have been legally divorced for for about 15 years. I never got my share of my ex's retirement funds at that time. My lawyer advised me to leave it in his retirement account due to penalties. Can I now go back and get what was owed to me? If so how can I perue the money owed to me from an old retirement fund?

Asked on 8/09/12, 10:17 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jordan Trager Wisselman, Harounian & Associates, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Does your divorce agreement provide for a qualified domestic relations order? You should have an attorney review it right away.

Read more
8/09/12, 10:51 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now