Legal Question in Family Law in New York

I'm located in New York. In 1997 I applied for, and was approved, for Social Security Disability. In 2001 I agreed to a child support payment knowing I didn't have the resources to make the payment and on the advice of counsel that it would be in my best interest to do what the court asked and agree to the amount demanded by the hearing examiner. I have submitted a motion for downward modification and was denied. The reason for denial states that the amount is based on earning ability. How can I go about getting a fair hearing being that I am disabled and do not have any earning ability?

Asked on 10/13/13, 9:28 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Bruce Provda Provda Law Firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

I am not sure you mean when you say you "agreed" to a support payment you could not make. If this became an order of the court, you need an attorney to help sort this out.

Read more
10/14/13, 10:38 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8784 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now