Re: Seperation
You need a lawyer. You have rights in need of protection!
A stay at home mother with children under the age of 14, is rarely made to leave the marital home, by the Court. So,.... Don't listen to your husband. In addition, your marriage is considered an "economic partnership," entitling you to an equal or equitable share of all of the family assets. That means that a portion of your "husband's" income or other assets belong to you. You are also entitled to receive Basic Child Support, according to a set percentage, and "add on/s" for things like baby sitting, tuition, camp, etc., to permit you to go to school, or work.
You have options! Use them, immediateley get a lawyer, before you forfeit your rights and your children's future.
Please note the following:
NY Grounds for Divorce include but are not limited to: A separation for a year or more, per a written agreement, properly acknowledged; Actual Abandonment; Cruel & Inhuman Treatment; and Constructive Abandonment.
Constructive Abandonment may be found when, a husband refuses to have sex with his spouse; or other conduct that amounts to the level of "leaving the marriage;" a period of a year or more; with the express intention not to resume the "marriage [bed];"
Abandonment (NOT necessarily Adultery) may also be shown when a spouse maintains a " special" relationship with another, ie., a husband has a girlfriend with whom he spends a substanial amount of time, rather than the wife.
GOOD LUCK,
PHROSKA L. McALISTER