New York  |  Medical Leave

question bubble
11/06/09, 1:53 pm

Legal Question


I went on disability before the bith of my baby. My company does not have a maternity leave policy, but I qualified under the FMLA act for 12 wks of unpaid leave. I have been in contact with my firm throughout my leave and even visited the office twice. I was supposed to come back to work on monday, but the friday night I received a call from my company saying that I shouldnt come in. The following Tuesday, I was let go. The reason they gave, was that they lost a client. But I was the only employee who was let go. Before I went out on leave, my boss told me that I would be taken back. I am not sure if this is legal and I am looking for advice. They are offering me 4 weeks pay in severence, but with the economy, it is not easy to find a job and they are basically giving me 1 month to do just that. Should I just take the money and forget about it, or pursue it legally?


question bubble
11/15/09, 8:26 am

Legal Answer


This is a tough economic decision that may depend on whether you can bear the burden of litigating against your employer and the likely result. I would suggest that before you sign any severance agreement, you discuss your options in detail with an attorney.

Locksley Wade

Law Office of Locksley O. Wade 110 Wall Street, 11th Floor New York, NY 10005

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/15/09, 4:35 pm

Legal Answer


I agree with the prior answer, you should contact an attorney to determine if have a claim. If you want to forgo an attorney, you should contact the Department of Labor for the potential FMLA violation. (www.dol.gov). At the same time, there may be a possibility that there is also a sex discrimination claim under Title VII under federal law. (www.eeoc.org). These websites will provide important information.

(Also licensed in New York, and practicing in Nassau County)

Paula McGill

Attorney at Law 191 Peachtree Street, Suite 3300 Atlanta, GA 30303

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search