New York  |  Medical Leave

question bubble
9/22/09, 2:25 pm

Legal Question


My employer states that I am entitled to take 6 weeks or more for maternity but that after 3 weeks on leave, I must pay my employer $400 a week that I do take off. Is this legal?


question bubble
9/27/09, 3:03 pm

Legal Answer


Did your employer specify what the $400 is for? If it is for your portion of the health insurance premium, your employer can require you to pay it.

Randall Brett

Law Office of Randall P. Brett 214 Carnegie Center, Suite 100 Princeton, NJ 08540

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search