New York | Medical Leave
Legal Question
FMLA Abused??
I have a co-worker who left to give birth. She was gone for 3 full months. I'm not even sure if she was entitled to FMLA in the first place because she is a freelancer. So I'm not sure if she worked 1250 hrs prior to leaving. She has now returned to work. However, she is demanding to leave an hour early so she can nurse her son. Because of our industry (live television), her co-workers have to do extra work to cover for her. If she already took a full 3 months off is she entitled to, in addition, to demand to leave early? Is she protected? It seems like the FMLA is being abused. To my knowledge her child is not sick, it is just a nursing schedule.


