New York | Medical Leave
Legal Question
Is there a law that protects people with ulcerative colitis,proctitis & diverticulitis?Througth the fmla. I have been with a company for 19 years & have been diagnosed with all the above.The co. employs 200 people. I am required by the co. to be seen by my Dr. twice per year & to have fmla paperwork to be filled out @ each visit.Is this the proper way for the co. to handle this?
Legal Answer
The FMLA covers unpaid leave during any 12-month period for for the birth and care of the newborn child of the employee; for placement with the employee of a son or daughter for adoption or foster care; to care for an immediate family member (spouse, child, or parent) with a serious health condition; or to take medical leave when the employee is unable to work because of a serious health condition.
A one day absence seems a a little over the top for FMLA leave when you can simply use sick time or vacation time.
Law Office of Locksley O. Wade
110 Wall Street, 11th Floor
New York, NY 10005
Top Areas of Law


