Legal Question in Medical Leave in New York

I have been off on recognized FMLA. I am returning to work and was told that my position was eleminated prior to my return, they then offered me pay for 1 month w/o returning to work because I will be laid off at the end of the year. My question is can they eleminate my position. The employer is aware that I am filing a harassment suit against them. There are also other positions w/n the company that I do qualify for

Asked on 12/03/12, 9:06 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Locksley Wade Law Office of Locksley O. Wade
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Your position can be eliminated for non-discriminatory reasons; however, that is a fact intensive inquiry that may have to litigated in a court of law or administrative agency.

Read more
12/05/12, 5:31 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Medical Leave Act questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88222 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Medical Leave Act Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
David SlaterDavid P. Slater, Esq.Boca Raton, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now