Legal Question in Civil Litigation in New York

on 3-11-2011 i was granted a default judgment for $5026.00. the defendant did not appear in court. he claims that he wrote it on the wrong date on his calender. the court personnel attempted to call him on the day of court but he didn't answer his phone. he is now asking that the judgment be vacated and a new date set. what are his chances?

Asked on 4/06/11, 11:26 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Markowitz Michael A. Markowitz, PC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

It would depend on whether he is able to demonstrate a reasonable excuse for the default and a meritorious defense.

Mike.

Read more
Answered on 4/07/11, 5:33 am

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

General Civil Litigation Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now