New York | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
equine partnership
I sold my interest in a race horse to my (ex) partner. It was an installment sale. I went ahead and signed the registration papers over to him for the specific reason of allowing him to stake the horse without the staking company continuing to bill me as a partner. This is written into the cx of sale. He made 2/3 of the payments and has been in default since Feb of '08 for a balance of $10,000 still due. In the interim he is racing the horse and making money. Do I have any rights (like repossession,% of purse monies...) other then to simply sue for the balance on the contract or did I throw all of the other rights away when I signed over the horse in good faith? Thanks.


