Legal Question in Civil Litigation in New York

I inadvertently shot off a few bottle rockets after the NYG. Super Bowl victory. One of the rockets touched off a small brush fire in the woods behind my neighbors house. It damaged 4 sections of his stockade fence. The fire department damaged 2 more section. I was honest about the whole thing and offered to pay for any damages. He is replacing the entire fence 25 sections and would like me to pay for the whole thing. I offered to pay half. The fence was over 20 years old. Exactly what am I liable for?

Asked on 3/05/12, 5:44 am

2 Answer from Attorneys

Jason Stern Law Offices of Jason Stern
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You're liable for the foreseeable consequences of your negligent conduct. In this case, that would be the replacement value of the damaged fence.

Good luck!

Read more
3/05/12, 11:25 am

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

General Civil Litigation Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now