New York | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Question about civil suit related to divorce issues
I have been separate from my wife for 2.5 yrs. We used mediation-taking over a year to complete and have been living under the terms of that agreement for over a year while the divorce has been in the hands of lawyers. After I separated, I met a woman and fell in love. Because of the effect on her due to the protracted nature of this uncontested divorce, she recently left me. I am distraught, depressed and in therapy. Beginning in March 2007 I began concerted efforts to move things along. Sensing the fact that my girlfirend was becoming frustrated, I tried everything I could- emailing my lawyer, talking to my wife. I begged and pleaded with her to move things along and was met with obstinancy and indifference. There was actually a point from March 14 - June 30 that her lawyer did not respond to a single call and did not do so until I threatened to call the Bar assoc. I believe that my wife has been vindictive and cruel and her lawyer negligent the combination resulting in a prolonged period of severe mental anguish made worse by the loss of girlfriend. I'm severly depressed and in therapy and have a trail of emails that I can share. Do I have a case for some sort of civil damages against my wife and/or her attorney?


