Legal Question in Civil Litigation in New York

I am suing my daughters doctor because I had paid in full and he closed his office before she was finished with her treatment. I received estimates from other doctors, and am suing only for the amount that it will cost to have her treatment completed. Because the doctor is currently filing for bankruptcy, all assetts are in his wifes name. (a million dollar home in Dix Hills, NY). I included her on my small claims court filing as I figured even if I win, which I think I would, I would never get money from him because of the bankruptcy.

My question is how do I justify suing her along with him?

Asked on 5/03/10, 8:57 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Locksley Wade Law Office of Locksley O. Wade
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If the wife was not a partner in the business then you are wasting your time in small claims court.

Read more
5/11/10, 6:04 am

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8784 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

General Civil Litigation Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now