Re: Need assistance applying for L1 visa
The basic requirements for obtaining L-1 Status are as follows:
(1) the employee must have worked abroad for the overseas company for a continuous period of one year in the preceding three years;
(2) the company for which the employee has worked for a year abroad must be related to the U.S. company in a specific manner, such as parent/subsidiary, sister companies with common parent;
(3) the company must be a qualifying organization - i.e., one that is doing business in the United States and one other country during the whole period of the transfer;
(4) the employee to be transferred must have been employed abroad in an "executive" or "managerial" position (L-1A) or a position involving "specialized knowledge" (L-1B);
(5) the employee must be coming to the U.S. company to fill one of these capacities (Executive, Managerial, or Specialized Knowledge);
(6) the employee must be qualified for the position by virtue of his or her prior education and experience;
(7) the L-1 visa holder must intend to depart the United States upon completion of his or her authorized stay.
Some of these requirements are easy to meet and no extensive documentation is necessary especially when the employer is well known and well established. However, when the company is small or just starting-up, you must be prepared to provide extensive and detailed documentation to establish the eligibility for L visa.
You can be either in the U.S. or in the foreign country when applying for the L-1. Your company should of course be profitable.
It is essential that you consult with an experienced Immigration Attorney before you decide to pursue this option. Presentation of your case is very important to its future success and your new company's longevity. Our Law Office handles these types of cases successfully. To speak with myself, or any one of our Attorneys directly, please dial (212) 618-1830. Thank you.