New York  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
11/17/09, 1:03 am

Legal Question


I'm a US citizen wanting to marry my Ecuadorian in Ecuador then live in the US. I want to get a K-3 visa, but what do I need to do to make it happen? We want to get married there because his family can't come up from Ecuador to see the wedding.


question bubble
11/22/09, 1:19 am

Legal Answer


You will need to petition for him as your husband with the USCIS upon your return to USA after the marriage.

It could take from 6 to 12 months to bring him to USA (assuming that he is not inadmissible to USA for some reason).

If you’d like to schedule a telephone or email legal consultation, or need advice or help, please let me know, and I’d be glad to help you: Attorney [@] law-visa-usa.com or LubaSmal [@] yahoo.com .

Note: The above response is provided for legal information purposes only and should not be considered as legal advice. This response doesn’t create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of a fee. If you request a follow-up confidential advice on your specific situation and regarding U.S.A. immigration-related issues, we can offer a paid consultation by telephone or email to clients from all States and globally. Please visit our website http://www.law-visa-usa.com/contact_us.html for more details. Our contact email address is Attorney [@] law-visa-USA.com

Luba Smal

Smal Immigration Law Office PO Box 540531 Omaha, NE 68154

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/23/09, 8:31 am

Legal Answer


You can find out information about the K-3 visa on the USCIS website. However, you may also want to speak with an attorney to discuss the pros and cons of filing a K-3 visa versus a green card petition for him, which can be adjudicated at the Consulate in Ecuador.

Rachel Baskin

Rachel Baskin, Attorney at Law 420 Lexington Avenue, Suite 300 New York, NY 10170

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/23/09, 7:06 pm

Legal Answer


There is a visa for fiancee of a U.S. Citizen and there is a green card application for wife/husband of U.S. Citizen.

There are certain advantages and disadvantages for both, depends on your personal circumstances.

If you decided to get married first, then you would probably go through green card process.

If you need more detailed information, you can look at the USCIS website and if you need assistance, you can contact our firm.

Alexander Tsiring

The Tsiring Law Firm, P.C. 1713 Sheepshead Bay Rd Brooklyn, NY 11235

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/30/09, 11:08 am

Legal Answer


I would need additional information regarding your particular case before I could comment on it properly.

However, please note that you will need to file a petition for a K-3 visa with the INS in the US.

Once you have provided the INS with all the documentation that they require you should get a US citizen visa.

Patricia Martin-Gibbons

Sent from my Verizon Wireless Blackberry

Antoinette Wooten

The Wooten Legal Consulting, PC 233 Broadway/ The Woolworth Bldg. New York City, NY 10279-0599

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search