New York  |  Immigration Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 10/20/10, 7:06 am

my family immigrated to the U.S. from Scotland 45 years ago. I do have a green card, but it still is from when I was a child. I am married to an American citizen and have been working and paying taxes in the u.s. my whole life. I want to become a u.s. citizen, I dont know how to get started.

5 Answers


Answered on: 10/25/10, 7:12 am by Nicklaus Misiti

You should go over your case with an attorney, make sure you qualify and there will be no complications and apply. For a free consultation give me a call.

Regards,

Nick Misiti

Misiti Global

716 830 7960

misitiglobal@misitiglobal.com


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Misiti Global, PLLC. 40 Wall St., 28th Floor New York, NY 10005

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 10/25/10, 7:14 am by Anthony Siliato

We would be happy to assist you with this process. Our consultation fee would be applied against our fixed legal fee should you decide to utilize our firm for the naturalization filing.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Meyner and Landis LLP One Gateway Center Newark, NJ 07102

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 10/25/10, 8:47 am by Dianne Brooks

This process should not be difficult but given the length of time you should consult an attorney to make sure that there are no complications in your history that might disqualify you.

I am an immigration attorney located in New York and would be happy to discuss this with you confidentially. I offer a free 20 minute consultation.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Mandel Law Firm 370 Lexington Ave. Suite 505 New York, NY 10017

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 10/25/10, 8:56 am by Michael Cho

It sounds like you likely qualify for naturalization as a US citizen.

Feel free to contact me for a free consultation here:

http://www.msclaw.com/Consultation_Request.html

You may find free information on the process here:

http://www.msclaw.com/U_S_Immigration_Law/U_S_Citizenship.html


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Michael Cho 10940 Wilshire Boulevard, 16th Floor Los Angeles, CA 90024

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 10/26/10, 6:51 am by Rachel Baskin

You may already be a citizen if you have had your permanent residency for such a long time. If your parents ever became citizens, you may have become one automatically. In that case you'd be eligible to apply for a US passport and/or a Certificate of Citizenship. Alternatively, if your parents never became citizens, or if you did not automatically become one, then you may be eligible to file an application for naturalization. You should speak with an attorney before filing an application for naturalization, because if you automatically became a citizen, USCIS will not approve the case.

This is general information only; it is not intended as a substitute for legal advice, and does not create an attorney-client relationship.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Rachel Baskin, Attorney at Law 420 Lexington Avenue, Suite 300 New York, NY 10170

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search