New York  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
11/03/09, 8:50 am

Legal Question


Hi,

I live in NYC and am a Permanent Resident. My boyfriend is from France and under a J-1 visa till March. We would like to get married. However I am confused about whether I can file for him while he is here so he doesn't have to leave or does he have to leave the country and then enter on a fiance visa or wait for the petition to be approved (which I hear takes a long time). Please help!


question bubble
11/08/09, 2:57 pm

Legal Answer


You have to become a USA citizen first. Only a USA citizen can file a Fiance visa petition. Only a spouse of a US citizen can apply for adjustment of status (and doesn't have to go back to France). Husband of a lawful permanent resident doesn't have the same legal options.

If you’d like to schedule a telephone legal consultation, please let me know, and I’d be glad to help: Attorney [@] law-visa-usa.com

Note: The above response is provided for legal information purposes only and should not be considered as legal advice. This response doesn’t create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of a fee. If a follow-up advice on your specific situation and regarding U.S.A. immigration-related issues is requested, we can offer a paid consultation by telephone or email to clients from all States and globally. Please visit our website http://www.law-visa-usa.com/contact_us.html for more details. Our contact email address is Attorney [@] law-visa-USA.com

Luba Smal

Smal Immigration Law Office
PO Box 540531
Omaha, NE 68154

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/09/09, 11:05 am

Legal Answer


There are two main issues to take into consideration - first is that you have to be a U.S.Citizen to file for fiance visa.

If you become a U.S.Citizen and you get married, then you can petition for your husband for green card.

The second important thing to check - whether or not your fiance has 2 year home residency requirement on his J-1 visa (which means that he has to return to France for 2 years) before applying for green card.

If you need further assistance - please contact our firm.

Alexander Tsiring

The Tsiring Law Firm, P.C.
1713 Sheepshead Bay Rd
Brooklyn, NY 11235

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/14/09, 6:28 pm

Legal Answer


I would need more details regarding your particular case before I could comment on it properly.

However, as a permanent resident it would be best if you filed for the K-1 fiancé visa while he is out of the country. If you file for him while he is in the US the immigration service could take the position that you are filing for him so that he does not have to leave and that the relationship is not real. Applying while he is in the US will also take longer.

Patricia Martin-Gibbons

Antoinette Wooten

The Wooten Legal Consulting Group, PC
233 Broadway/ The Woolworth Bldg.
New York City, NY 10279-0599

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search