New York | Immigration Law
Legal Question
Illegal aliens
What laws are violated when someone enters the USA illegally and what laws are violated if someone harbors and/or offers employment to a known illegal alien?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Antonio Maldonado |
Re: Illegal aliens 8 USC Section 1324a(a)(1) is violated when you offer employment to someone who is not authorized to work under the immigration laws. If there is a pattern or practice of violating this law you can be fined and/or imprisoned for up to 3 years.
8 USC Section 1324 establishes that a person that harbors an illegal alien can be fined and/or imprisoned for up to 5 years, 10 years if there is a financial gain, or longer terms if there is bodily injury or death to anyone.
8 USC 1325 establishes that an alien who entered without inspection at a place other than a port of entry (i.e. illegally) can be fined and/or imprisoned for up to 6 months and up to 2 years if it has been done more than once. If the alien was deported before entering illegally then the terms for imprisonment are longer depending on fact specific circumstances.
|
Top Attorneys in NY
David L. Leon, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Offices of Brian D. Lerner, A Professional Corporation
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 1043
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Michael D. Stewart
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
Frenkel Sukhman LLP
White Plains, NY
Questions Answered: 364
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Ajay K. Arora, Attorney-at-Law, P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Rosenberg & Press L.L.C.
Stratford, CT
Questions Answered: 335
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-24
The Tsiring Law Firm, P.C.
Brooklyn, NY
Questions Answered: 281
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Law Offices of Seeta Nangia
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
Law Offices of Tanya Gendelman, P.C.
Brooklyn, NY
Questions Answered: 176
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Search Questions and Answers


