New York  |  Insurance Law

question bubble
11/08/09, 9:35 pm

Legal Question


I have a 50,0000.00 death benefit insurance policy through my job. I would like to leave the momey to my granddaughter who is 8. what can I do to make sure no one gets the money except her when she's older? The beneficiary form asks me to name a guardian because she is a minor. I don't want to do that because I believe her father and aunts will spend it.


question bubble
11/14/09, 11:58 pm

Legal Answer


You have to setup a trust, either in your will (called a "testamentary trust," or now while you are alive (called a "living trust"), to accept the proceeds of the life insurance upon your death. You would then select an objective 'trustee' who would be responsible for managing the money and maintaining the trust upon your death.

Good luck.

Rick Bryan, Esq.

New York, NY

Rick Bryan

Richard Bryan Attorney PLLC 350 1st Ave, 3E New York, NY 10010

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search