Legal Question in Insurance Law in New York

A carpool group has decided that just one of the group would always be the driver, always in his own car. The gas/maintenance costs which he charges them is well above the actual costs, so he makes a profit. He gets extra liability insurance to cover injuries to any of the carpool members in case of injury in an accident. An accident occurs and a member is injured. Can the insurance deny a claim on the grounds that the driver/owner, who was overcharging his carpool partners and making a profit, was operating an illegal car-for-hire business, and therefore had fraudulently represented himself to the insurance company?

Asked on 8/23/13, 7:35 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kevin Connolly Kevin J. Connolly
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Maybe. But who's going to tell the insurance company? And truth to tell, even when the vehicle is a dollar van, the insurance company will generally pay, even a hard case like Allstate.

Read more
9/08/13, 3:19 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Insurance Law questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Insurance Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now