New York | Insurance Law
Legal Question
How do disability insurance companies calculate what to pay for a lump sum settlement
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: John W. DeHaan |
The answer to this question is: it depends.
If you have your own individual disability insurance policy, then the insurance carrier decides how much of a monthly benefit it will provide to you during the underwriting process -- i.e., when you apply for the policy. Basically, carriers will sell you insurance up to about 60% to 70% of your income at the time you apply for the policy, but each company has its own underwriting guidelines so the actual amount could vary.
If your disability insurance is through your employer's long term disability plan, then those plans typically provide a benefit of 50% to 70% (60% and 66.667% being the most common) of your pre-disability income. From this amount, the insurance company then subtracts the benefit amounts you receive from other sources -- e.g., Social Security disability, Workers' Compensation, disability pension, etc. Of course, all of this depends on the exact terms of your employer's disability plan.
If you are asking about New York's statutory short-term disability benefits, those are equal to 50% of your pre-disability income, but the benefit is capped at $170/week. You only get 26 weeks of benefits. |
Top Attorneys in NY
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7772
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
David L. Leon, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1827
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Office of Mark S. Moroknek *
Syosset, NY
Questions Answered: 1173
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Jeffrey A. Lazroe attorney at law
Buffalo, NY
Questions Answered: 564
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-14
Ashman Law Offices, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
Rosenberg & Press L.L.C.
Stratford, CT
Questions Answered: 335
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-24
Search Questions and Answers


