New York | Insurance Law
Legal Question
Insurance Co. Liability
Following my report of a water loss to my insurance company they write me “ IF YOR LOSS INVOLVES WATER DAMAGE “ it is imperative that you contact someone immediately to thoroughly dry your home. ...two such companies, _ _ and __ are trained in water damage restoration and are able to check for hidden moisture.''
I hired one of the two companies they mentioned, much to my chagrin. First, mold damage, which was present and photographically documented at the time of the water loss, reappeared after their restoration work–which was careless and incompletely done I later learned from an environmental consultant I had brought in. Secondly, my insurance company forwarded a building loss check made payable to the contractor and me jointly, but mailed it to the contractor against my explicit, written directions. The contractor endorsed this check without my authorization. Is the insurance company jointly liable for the damages wrought by the contractor.? The check cashed by the contractor includes payment for includes some $20K of repairs that I
paid for and sought direct reimbursement for from the Insurance company- with accompanying paid bills.


