New York | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
how much does it cost to hire a lawyer to help get a patten
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Gerry Elman |
Typically a patent attorney would perform a search of the prior art and then issue an opinion letter to advise if the invention meets the legal test of being novel and nonobvious from the prior art. Various professionals charge various amounts for the task, which can also depend in part on the field of technology relevant to the invention. In most instances, figure on spending at least $1,000 for a search and patentability opinion.
The next step is to generate a complex technical document, a patent application, which generally involves creating drawings illustrating the invention and text describing it. Depending on the technology involved, it can cost from about $4,000 to $10,000 and up for a patent attorney to perform this service.
Following U.S. patent application filing, there will be a period of a few years of "patent prosecution," and the applicant may optionally choose to file corresponding applications internationally for coverage outside of the United States.
For further information about the stragegies involved in seeking protection of inventions, by patents and other legal tools, visit my website at www.elman.com. And look in your bookstore for the latest edition of a helpful primer on the patenting process, Patent It Yourself by David Pressman (Nolo Press, www.nolo.com). |
|
Read More Answered By: Mark Torche |
It depends on the kind of invention and the attorney/agent you choose and the kind of patent you apply for.
Provisional patents which must be replaced with a utilty application within 1 year are the least expensive.
Utility patent: This is the "standard" patent application and are the most expensive. Also, since most applications are rejected, you will likely have to pay to respond to rejections as they are received from the patent office.
Design patent: this patent is cheaper than a utility patent but is less protective. It only covers the exact "look" or design, not it's function. You can have both a design patent and a utility for the same invention.
I would be glad to discuss specific costs with you if you like. I would not charge to discuss this with you.
Hope this helps, Mark Torche, Esq. |
Top Attorneys in NY
David L. Leon, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
David A. Browde, P.C.
Chappaqua, NY
Questions Answered: 1595
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Gonzalez Law Associates P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-14
The Law Offices of Anthony J. Colleluori & Associates PLLC
Woodbury, NY
Questions Answered: 1371
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-02
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Delain Law Office, PLLC
Schenectady, NY
Questions Answered: 944
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Ashman Law Offices, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
Michael D. Stewart
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
Frenkel Sukhman LLP
White Plains, NY
Questions Answered: 364
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Search Questions and Answers


