New York | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
Were can i find information for copyrighting my brand name?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Steven Mark |
You don't copyright a brand name--you apply for a trademark. You can do this at www.uspto.gov. When you reach the home page, under the "Trademarks" column, click on "File forms online. If you're patient and don't mind the learning curve which is not difficult you can do it yourself. Generally, the filing fee you can expect to pay is $325. You should, however, first satisfy yourself that the name or "mark" isn't already being used as a trademark or in the application process. To do thiis, you'd click on "Search Marks" in the same column. Be prepared, however, for the USPTO to respond with deficiencies in your application. While this is common, even with attorney filings, you may feel more comfortable with an experienced attorney handling the response. You might also save time and expense by having an attorney order and review a detailed search and file your initial application too. If your brand is just being launched and involves a large expenditure of investment (e.g., packaging, marketing, etc.) you'd be well advised to also invest in experienced legal counsel. |
Top Attorneys in NY
David L. Leon, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
David A. Browde, P.C.
Chappaqua, NY
Questions Answered: 1595
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Gonzalez Law Associates P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-14
The Law Offices of Anthony J. Colleluori & Associates PLLC
Woodbury, NY
Questions Answered: 1371
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-02
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Delain Law Office, PLLC
Schenectady, NY
Questions Answered: 944
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Ashman Law Offices, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
Michael D. Stewart
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
Frenkel Sukhman LLP
White Plains, NY
Questions Answered: 364
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Search Questions and Answers


