New York  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
10/28/09, 1:21 pm

Legal Question


I am starting a site where one feature includes allowing members to "share" third-party articles/news from other sites (i.e. CNN, MSN, Yahoo, etc).

When they share these articles, the articles will post on my site as they are written on the third-party site. The proper credit will be included.

Will this feature violate any copyright laws?


question bubble
11/02/09, 1:35 pm

Legal Answer


Yes.

It will violate the copyrights of the authors of the articles. "Proper credit" is irrelevant.

David Browde

David A. Browde, P.C. 604 Quaker Road Chappaqua, NY 10514

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search