New York  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
10/30/09, 7:01 pm

Legal Question


I submitted songs to the copyright office today.

They wont have a registration/certificate number for at least 4 months and they will send the certificate after 6 months.

Question: How soon can I safely play my songs to prospective music publishers? Can I do it now because the copyright office has my date of registration on file now (And I have an email copy from them of all songs they received from the upload)?

Thanks


question bubble
11/04/09, 7:14 pm

Legal Answer


Dear Songwriter,

You already own the copyright. The copyright was yours as soon as you created the songs. The process of registration just adds to your rights such as the right to sue for infringement and perhaps most importantly, you can rely on effective notice rather than actual notice since once registered, it is assumed that the infringer had knowledge of your copyright rather than having to prove actual knowledge. But again, you already own the copyright and you do not need to wait until you have the certificate.

Good luck,

Mark David Torche, Esq.

Patwrite LLC

Mark Torche

Patwrite LLC
408 W Main St
Marshalltown, IA 50158-5759

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search