New York  |  Investment Law

question bubble
8/19/09, 10:02 am

Legal Question


I am an indian citizen currently living in USA and planing to buy an underconstuction property in india. Can an excute a power of attorney in my father's name , who is in India, from usa so that he can sign the agreement ? If yes how will the process work ?


question bubble
8/26/09, 6:24 pm

Legal Answer


You may tailor the Power of Attorney to specifically state that your father is acting on your behalf for all matters concerning the purchase of the property in India. In all probability, it will be recognized in India; however, you may want to check with an attorney in India before proceeding.

Locksley Wade

Law Office of Locksley O. Wade 110 Wall Street, 11th Floor New York, NY 10005

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
10/04/09, 5:54 am

Legal Answer


The process is simple and needs a few steps in India after being signed in USA.

Please also check the title of the seller and the agreement for sale of UDS as well as construction through a lawyer as many reputed builders usually draft agreements through their lawyers with clauses which are totally one-sided.

Please refer : www.lawconcern.com

for some basic details of need to be careful.

warm regards

Seshadri Srinivasan

www.lawconcern.com 7A Queens Court 130 Montieth Road Egmore Chennai Chennai,india, NUS 600008

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search