New York  |  Employment Law

question bubble
10/28/09, 7:56 pm

Legal Question


I have access to attendance records (read and print only) of school staff. As a deputy treasurer for the district I muat have access to many areas of our financial and human resources software to fill in for the treasurer when she is not available. Recenty, an employee asked me for information from her attendance record and I gave it to her. Later,I was told that I had violated HIPAA regulations and that I should forwarded the request to the HR Dept. I felt that since I had provided only that person's personal information to her that it was not a violation. Please, advise. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search