New York | Employment Law
Legal Question
distributioni of retroactive raises
I work for a non profit agency. In late August, the city negotiated a contract in which everyone in our program would be getting a lump sum payment of $1,000 and in addition a 12% retroactive raise for each (backdated to April). The agency was given all of this money in September by the city. Some of the employees did receive the lump sum but a few did not. NONE of the employees have received any money for their retroactive raise as of yet. How long is the agency allowed to hold this money (and I assume, have it collect interest) before giving it to their employees. In addition, if I were to leave before they disperse the monies, would I still be entitled to the retroactive money that I've earned from April on.
Thank you very much for you assistance.


