New York | Employment Law
Legal Question
Holiday Pay
What are the employment laws regarding overtime pay, Sunday pay (when not part of your normal work week) and Holiday pay? What ratre of pay is an employer required to pay in New York State?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bunji Fromartz |
Re: Holiday Pay The New York State minimum increased to $6.00 per hour as of January 1, 2005. It will increase to $6.75 per hour as of January 1, 2006 and to $7.15 per hour as of January 1, 2007. Any increase in the federal wage above the state rate will result in an increase in the state's minimum wage.
Overtime Rate: For most occupations, employees must be paid overtime after 40 hours of work in a week at 1½ times their hourly rate of pay. For residential employees, the overtime rate applies after 44 hours.
There are no specific holiday or Sunday rates, they are subject to agreements between the employer/employee or union.
This is true for most industries. For more detail goto the NYS Dept. of Labor's website at http://www.labor.state.ny.us/business_ny/employer_responsibilities/workprot/lshmpg.htm or call them or your attorney. |
Top Attorneys in NY
David L. Leon, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1827
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office of Locksley O. Wade
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1703
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
The Law Offices of Anthony J. Colleluori & Associates PLLC
Woodbury, NY
Questions Answered: 1371
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-02
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Office of Mark S. Moroknek *
Syosset, NY
Questions Answered: 1173
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
Arnold H. Nager, Esquire
Hastings On Hudson, NY
Questions Answered: 1074
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Delain Law Office, PLLC
Schenectady, NY
Questions Answered: 944
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Offices of Jason Stern
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 744
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Ashman Law Offices, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
Search Questions and Answers


