New York | Employment Law
Legal Question
involuntary termination
According to NYS Law, what is the definition of involuntary termination, and ''without good cause''
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bunji Fromartz |
Re: involuntary termination In general NYS is at "At Will" employment state and you can be fired at any time for a reason or no reason.
Involuntary termination is the firing or laying off an employee and not at the request of the employee.
Unemployment compensation is available if you were fired or laid off without a reason, ie "without good cause." If you were failing to follow orders or continually late that would be "for cause".
If you quit due to sexual or racial harassment at the workplace you are also entitled to unemployment. |
Top Attorneys in NY
David L. Leon, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Locksley O. Wade
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1703
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
The Law Offices of Anthony J. Colleluori & Associates PLLC
Woodbury, NY
Questions Answered: 1371
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-02
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Office of Mark S. Moroknek *
Syosset, NY
Questions Answered: 1173
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
Arnold H. Nager, Esquire
Hastings On Hudson, NY
Questions Answered: 1075
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Delain Law Office, PLLC
Schenectady, NY
Questions Answered: 944
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Offices of Jason Stern
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 744
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Ashman Law Offices, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
Search Questions and Answers


