New York  |  Employment Law

question bubble
11/15/07, 5:21 pm

Legal Question


Misclassified

I am a security guard in big catering-restaurant company who owns more than one location. I started to work almost 3 years ago since then I always received 1099 tax form every year..I work 5 days a week 12 hours a day (8 am-8pm no over-time paid) under the supervison of head of security or security supervisors or departman managers, they make my schedule,they tell me what to do and I report them if anything happens, I dont have uniform but they make me ware black suit-tie, white shirt, they also gave me a star as a sign of security guard ... I don't have any military or law enf. experience this is my first security job but I had some training like CPR first aid etc. which my company provided..I don't punch time card or anything to record my schedule..I also have 10-20 minutes lunch time a day but mostly intrupted... Recently i learned that i may be misclassified as a independent contractor

I just want to know what i have to do?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search