Legal Question in Employment Law in New York

At my place of work they recently installed a camera in the break room. I read on another web site that this could be a violation of our rights to privacy. They also did not make it known to any of us that they were going to put a camera in the break room. I believe the reasoning for putting the camera there is to keep an eye on what time people clock into work. But the managers can check on the computers what time we clock in. So am i right to assume this is a violation.

Asked on 11/19/09, 3:03 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Locksley Wade Law Office of Locksley O. Wade
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

It is not a violation of any right to privacy if the camera is in a place where there is no exception of privacy (e.g. a locker room or dressing room or toilet).

Read more
11/26/09, 8:32 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88263 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now