New York  |  Employment Law

question bubble
4/16/06, 11:20 pm

Legal Question


qualifiying for unemployment?

when i was hired i said i can work mon thru fri, NO weekends. now i am being told that i have to come in on two saturdays to learn more about the job. They said that i have to, my job depends on it. If i get fired will i be able to collect? also if i said that i might be able to do it but a week away tell them sorry but i can not,I was not hired for weekends. does that make a difference? On top of that they want to give me off friday in turn for the saturday obviously so they dont have to pay me overtime. I am really being played with at this job. I don't want them to get away with threatning me with my job. I am over 18 but visit my mother every weekend, that is why i would never take a job that consists of working sat. or sundays. is there anything i can do?

thanks in advance,

L


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search