New York | Employment Law
Legal Question
two questions please
1. If you go to an employmet office and they tell you to pay should you?
2.what if after you pay the dont want to recive your calls what should you do then?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bunji Fromartz |
Employment Agency Complaints Employment agencies, including vocational guidance or counseling services, that charge a fee to employees, must be licensed by and bonded with the New York State Department of Labor. Agencies in New York City must be licensed by the Department of Consumer Affairs.
Any employment agency operating in New York State must comply with the provisions contained within Article 11 (§§ 170 – 191)of the General Business Law. This Article sets the maximum fee an employment agency may charge a job applicant, requires agencies to be licensed, and prevents agencies from misrepresenting the nature of the positions it offers.
The Department of Consumer Affairs can bring a suit against an employment agency in the name of any consumer injured by the agency’s “misstatement, misrepresentation, fraud or deceit, or any unlawful act or omission.”
Complaints can be made to the Department of Labor. http://www.consumer.state.ny.us/clahm/clahm-employment_agencies.htm#2 |
Top Attorneys in NY
David L. Leon, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Locksley O. Wade
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1703
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
The Law Offices of Anthony J. Colleluori & Associates PLLC
Woodbury, NY
Questions Answered: 1371
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-02
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Office of Mark S. Moroknek *
Syosset, NY
Questions Answered: 1173
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
Arnold H. Nager, Esquire
Hastings On Hudson, NY
Questions Answered: 1075
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Delain Law Office, PLLC
Schenectady, NY
Questions Answered: 944
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Offices of Jason Stern
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 744
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Ashman Law Offices, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
Search Questions and Answers


