New York  |  Employment Law

question bubble
11/09/05, 4:33 pm

Legal Question


Retrenchment

For 9.5 yrs I have worked for a large non-profit organization. I recently received notice that my position was being ''retrenched'' and my employment will end in one month. There are no guidelines in the handbook for retrenchment and I have not received any answers. Yesterday, I was told that I will not receive compensation for my excess vacation hours. How can they make all these rules when there is no rules for retrenchment in the employee handbook? I was told by my Diretor that this has never been done before. I have an exemplary record with this organization and I don't understand what is

happening. Are there any legal guidelines for retrenchment?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search