New York | Employment Law
Legal Question
should I sign a separation agreement & release?
I was offered a severance package to leave my job of 14 yrears. The separation agreement & release I was given contains a release paragraph and a no furthe consideration paragraph, both are clear to me that i'd be giving up my right to sue.
Although I have not decided to sue for wrongful discharge & /or discrimination; I feel the termination is unjustified. The reason given was the results of an audit f/u in wich they were told that documentation was being signed incorrectrly- a change that was made with the executive directors knowledge. I returned from FMLA about 3 months ago& am now have aprotected disability, about a month ago I complained about being harrassed by my new supervisor & was told it was not harrament because I was not being reated differently than other employees.
Do I have to sign the separation agreement & give up my right to sue in order to get the severance?


