New York | Employment Law
Legal Question
Unfair Firing
I am a chef and started a new job a week ago. My employer told me that I would become the head chef as soon as they told a current employee (who was not fulfilling his job requirements)that he had 2 weeks to find another job. I was told not to let anyone know that I would be taking over and to just assume the role of assistant chef for now. My employer was supposed to talk with the other employee today but instead told me that the other employee had ''stepped up to the plate'' and was now fulfilling his duties. Since I was the new hire and making more money they would have to let me go and would pay me for the rest of this week. He did not indicate that it had anything to do with job performance. In fact 2 days ago he assured me that I was doing a good job and would be taking over this weekend. I turned down other opportunities to take this job and want to know if their is any legal recourse that I could take.


