Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in New York

I broke a commercial lease because I am totally broke. I have no money to pay the rent and other expenses. I spoke to the landlord and he said that he can't release me from the lease until the store gets rented. I am totally broke (I am not exaggerating). I own a home which has no equity at all since I have a 2nd mortgage. I have critical financial debt. What do you suggest I should do?

Asked on 11/30/09, 3:24 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Markowitz Michael A. Markowitz, PC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

It is impossible to answer this question with the limited information given in the question. Therefore, you should contact a bankruptcy attorney to review your options.


Read more
Answered on 12/05/09, 10:03 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now