New York  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
7/03/05, 9:09 am

Legal Question


Contactors left broke part of the walls and left it that way, children under 7li

We have contractors changing electricity lines in our 6 floor dwelling building. They broke parts of the walls and made lots of wholes in the ceiling of my apartment, put in the new lines, and left it that way.The new lines are not connected yet i think, but all these pealing paint, bugs coming in dozens from the holes in the walls and the ceiling, and all that in the apartment where we have 3 children , 2 of them under 7 years old.

After 3 days they still didn't cover the holes and i called the management of this contractors. The woman on the other end of the lined told me that they have to cover the holes and told me to speak with the head of the team on site to fox it next day, i did what she said but nobody came next day. I called 311 , told them everything and they filed a complain through the department of housing preservation or something like that, but i think before their inspectors show up everything will already be fixed.

Now, can i get thos contractors management to pay us for for making the children in our appartment live in such conditions for so many days???


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search