Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in New York

An ex-girlfriend has suddenly contacted me recently stating she will take legal action against $3300 that I owe her for rent. This happened about 5-6 years ago in New York City. No official lease was signed by me and I don't remember the details of the money I owed her. I am a 3rd year medical school student with a family, with a premature baby in the neonatal intensive care unit and have $200K in school loans. How should I proceed? Thank you.

Asked on 6/28/13, 2:27 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

ANUJ SHARMA, ESQ. A SHARMA LAW FIRM, PLLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No action is required at this point, until she initiates one.

Read more
Answered on 7/10/13, 8:36 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now