New York  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
3/03/08, 9:03 am

Legal Question


illegal Apartment

I moved into a basement apt with a significant other. We got the apt by giving one month rent, one month security and a total sum of $3,000 to rent the apt furnished. I was kicked out the apt and the landlord ended up giving him ALL the cash back. Security deposit and monies totaling to the furniture. Do I have a leg to stand on. I am entitled to at least $2,100. The landlord says there is nothing he can do?? I am at lost for words. I do not want to be taken as a fool from either of these parties.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search