Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in New York

my name is on a lease agreement along with my roommates. I am moving early because of a promotion. my roommate is staying and taking over the entire rent. there's no statement in the lease that says how much each person is required to pay. my landlord said he's going to take my half of the security deposit and charge my roommate for another half. can he do this?

Asked on 7/29/13, 2:52 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Bob fitzmaurice Maurice law firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

This could be yes or no, but should be more precisely defined in the actual lease agreement.

Therefore, it depends exactly what you signed up for.Your answer is more likely contained therein.

Read more
8/01/13, 6:27 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88263 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now