Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in New York

I am leasing an apartment in NY and am a victim of domestic violence. My ex and I are co-tenants on the lease. Can my landlord release me (and not him) from the lease without his consent?

Asked on 11/25/09, 12:23 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Markowitz Michael A. Markowitz, PC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes. The landlord has the right to release any individual from any obligation under the lease.

Mike.

Read more
11/30/09, 1:32 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88167 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
David SlaterDavid P. Slater, Esq.Boca Raton, FL
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now