New York  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
11/30/05, 5:27 pm

Legal Question


My Rights as A Tenant

I am posting this so that maybe someone can tell me what my rights are in my Landlord Tenant case that I am currently involved in. Basically, I was never served with any papers, but when I went to court the Landlords attorney just adjourned the case for a trial because they wanted to give me time to come up with $2,500, I never signed any papers or anything and I was just given a paper telling me when I need to come back to court. I just need to know if I can still ask for a Traverse the next time I go to court and if I still have a right to one. Also, if I lose the traverse, can I appeal? And if so, how can I get the judge to stay a possible eviction while the appeal process takes it’s course. In other words, what will I need to tell or show the judge in order for me to increase the possibly that I can get the judge to grant a stay. Any help you can provide will be of great help.

Thank You in Advance.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search