Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in New York

Sued for unpaid rent

Is it legal to sue two different parties for the same debt? I was evicted during 8/07. A former roommate was sued 4700 for unpaid rent. I have now been sued 3305 for the same thing. Is this legal?

Asked on 5/07/08, 7:33 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Markowitz Michael A. Markowitz, PC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Sued for unpaid rent

Yes. However, a landlord is not entitled to double recovery.

Mike.

Read more
5/08/08, 8:42 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88263 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now